Trusting God in the Middle

I thought it would be good to give everyone an update on how I am doing.

I write this from the chemo treatment room as I start my first treatment for Stage II Hodgkin’s lymphoma.  Treatment consists of sitting in a chair for three hours…and it’s not easy for me to be still that long, so I will use this time to share some insights God is revealing to me on this journey.

When facing challenges, the blessing of great friends and a great church are so much more poignant to me.  They are always there, always good – but somehow, when you are facing stuff, they are all the sweeter.  It’s not like I take them for granted (okay, I do, but who wants to admit that?).  It’s just that I am now keenly aware – overwhelmed, really – of how good and generous God is to me.

Faith is a constant part of life.  I believe God has a plan for me, I believe everything is in His divine care, and I believe He is greater then anything I will face. Those are the facts and I believe them without a doubt.

Faith that is exercised has a different depth to it.  As I sit here with a tube running in my chest, my mind wanders to the “what if’s.”  For example, they tell me the five-year outlook is 80% success rate.  Hmmm…that’s pretty good, but what about the 20%?  Now does having those thoughts mean I don’t have faith, or that I doubt God?  Not at all.  This is faith in action.  I have fears, doubts, and concerns, but my action is to believe in the truth of Christ in my life.  He is here at work on my behalf, and His command is “Be not afraid, for I am with you.”

So  I put it into practice.

I keep my thoughts on the truth.  I meditate, daydream, think, whatever you call it, on God.

I love the new song Ben has taught us, called “Overwhelmed.”  Part of the song says:

Forgive us for the days that we stray
When we’re overwhelmed we’ll say
Glorious
Beautiful
Jesus, we are weak, so be our strength

We are overwhelmed by your love
We are overwhelmed by your love
We are overwhelmed by your love

When I speak out loud the truth of God, I exercise my faith and I grow strong!  My struggles diminishes and peace dominates my life.

The best part of being in the middle of something challenging is the exercise of my faith.  This is an active step I take.  I participate in the growth God is working in me.  It is a choice, it is empowering, and it is faith alive.

I don’t wait for God to move – He is moving right now, in the middle of things.

And it’s not a bad place to be when He is there.

-Pastor Jeff

10 comments

  • God Bless you and Shelly, you two are the one of the most amazing couples I know.

  • thank you so much for sharing this journey with us! We love you guys!

  • Thanks Jeff. Such a blessing to greet you in the cancer unit the other day. We will be praying for you and we know you will be doing the same for Nels. God truly has a great plan for both of you. So enjoyed your words from your first day in the unit. As I mentioned to you, we have had so many God moments while there, including praying with a couple. Watched TBN tonight and Carman was the host. He shared his recent learning that he has multiple myeloma like Nels. Strong spirit. Blessings to you, Love you, Kay and Nels Hollo

  • Our prayers are with u and your family. Thank you for allowing us to take this journey with u.

  • Jeff, We just heard your news from an email from Real Life. We are so sorry to hear of your diagnosis. We will be praying for you and your family.
    Love you guys.

  • You amaze me on such a profound level Jeff, making my already very strong faith all the more strengthened every time I hear anything from you! I am so blessed to know you and your family. You are as always in my prayers and I know you will be stronger for this walk that God has given you. As you walk with him one step at a time, don’t forget to allow Him to carry you when you are needing rest and know that you are very loved. I sometimes forget that I am not meant to do everything, that he is there to take on the burden of our load when we need it. Take care my friend.

  • Sherie Stockbridge

    Well Jeff, where to start? You have been a huge blessing in my life, your family and you have been one big wake up call in my journey to find answers to so many questions I have. I do know that God is playing a huge role in my life story and one day he will make more things clear to me, for example, I don’t understand why we get tested like this, why do you have to get sick? I don’t understand but, pray daily for an answer. I miss you all and hope to get back to my sunday routine shortly, work has been so busy as well as sports. I love you, you are in my prayers and look forward to hearing about your positive outlook. It is you who is strong and looking at this with such positivity that will make those of us that think things are bad for us when you are the one in this seat. Love ya, take care and hope to see you soon.

  • Thank you so much for not isolating, but bringing us along on your journey. Gene and I have been daily praying for you and your family. God is all over this. Your faith is so strong, and what is awesome about God’s family is when you feel like yuk, we all will be there uplifting and supporting you. Can’t wait to experience this with you guys., I am sure a lot of people have said this, but if you guys need anything, (shoulder to cry on, a human to scream at, ride, what ever, please call….Gene is retired now.) Love you and will continue to stand in the gap with prayer. Brenda Guisinger

  • Jeff: We love you and are praying for you, as you start this new journey.

  • Jeff, you will beat this with God’s strength and your family and friends standing beside you. We are so blessed to have you in our lives and you will be in my prayers to keep your faith strong. I saw this and thought of you and can hear you saying it….You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step

Leave a comment