Ben Sims

Worship Leader

1) What’s your favorite part about your role at Real Life?
My favorite part is getting to see people engage in a meaningful and developing act of praise every week.

2) What’s your favorite thing about Real Life?
My favorite thing is the strong sense of community.  I love being together with other believers engaged in worship, learning, and service.

3) Share a favorite Bible verse.
My current favorite Bible verse is Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

4) What’s your favorite song or artist?
This is nearly impossible to nail down.  I am on a long journey of music discovery that will probably end when I die.  The question for me is what has had the most influence.  Here is a short list: Fugazi (In on the Kill Taker), Radiohead (Ok Computer), Metallica (And Justice for All – this one helped me through some rough times as a kid), Led Zeppelin (all albums – first and foremost I’m a rock drummer and John Bonham’s influence on me and almost every other drummer is irrefutable.  Also, as a guitarist Jimmy Page makes me feel unworthy to even pick the instrument up.  These guys are true rock heroes.).

I could go on and on with this, but at last I will say that Christian Contemporary music has not held a special place in my heart until recently.  When I really dove in and started leading people in worship, I learned to look past what I viewed as substandard art.  God has really helped me to see His hand in all things and can see His inspiration in the hearts of many Christian artists.  Some artists and leaders that I respect are local guys.  Here is another short list: Todd Fadel (I’ve played with Todd over the years and he really is a inspired story teller) and Josh Garrels (we have used his songs in our gatherings and they connect with our community in an amazing way).

5) What do you like to do in your free time?
I work full time as a firefighter/paramedic/haz mat tech.  My spare time is spent at Real Life Church crafting and curating the worship services.  I enjoy this as well as playing in local bands.

6) If you could take an all-expenses-paid vacation anywhere, where would you most want to go?
Somewhere with sun.  I grew up in the Northwest, but as I get older I can feel my vitamin D slipping away.  Also, the center of the universe for me is Rome.  If I could get there before I die that would be great.

7) What would you say to encourage someone who was nervous about visiting Real Life for the first time?
I would say that this is genuinely a friendly place and people are open and inviting!

Save

5 comments

Leave a Reply

