Christmas Carol Devotionals: Angels We Have Heard On High

YouVersion and LifeChurch.tv have put together a clever devotional series based on Christmas carols!  We’ll discuss a few here on the blog based on the carols we sing during Advent, but we highly encourage each of you to go through the plan on your own.  Sign up at YouVersion or leave a comment to have a PDF version emailed to you.

“Angels We Have Heard On High”

This carol is about the annunciation of Christ’s birth by the angels.  What a moment that must have been!  A handful of shepherds, ordinary guys on the “night shift” (as Jeff put it), saw a glorious host of angels and heard the declaration of a prophecy come true.  The devotional points out how incredible this was: “There has not been any event in history before or after Christ’s birth that has resulted in such celebration that the angels themselves made their physical presence known and their voices heard in song.”

“It seems like people tend to have fewer experiences these days of complete awe. Technology has brought so much of the world to our living rooms and fingertips that we can see anything we want and feel like we are at anyplace we want to be. Unfortunately, most of us probably have fewer awe-inspiring moments with God like we should. Our relationship with Him often becomes too comfortable and even ordinary. This Christmas, make an attempt to regain those awe-inspiring moments with God. Strive to make your relationship with Him something so inspiring that it causes you to rejoice like the angels did. Don’t let your relationship with Him be ordinary, but rather make it extraordinary.”

Questions:

Describe some of the awe-inspiring moments you’ve had with God.  How have these moments impacted you?

What changes do you need to make in your life so that you can start having more awe-inspiring moments with God?

(from YouVersion)

One comment

  • Life has really changed for me in the past few years. Real Life church has been a huge part of that change and it’s a positive thing. I was raised up in the church but didn’t really experience God in a real way. I witnessed lots of negative aspects of religion and we gave up on it. After 10 years or so, we came to Real Life. I know that God was speaking to me through Pastor Jeff. He said so many things that I desperately wanted to hear and wanted to be true…for a long long time…and I think up until then, no one I knew had the guts to “go there.” Every week, something would be on my mind and Jeff would talk about it, like he was reading my mind, every Sunday. I was blown away. Many of the questions that blocked me from having faith in the past were answered for me. This church has been amazing for Jake and I. We are so thankful for everyone here who’s opened their arms to us at a time when we really needed to find a community where we can learn and grow on our faith journey.

    So for me, Real Life Church has been awe-inspiring. God silenced all of the noise in my life so I could learn to listen to what he is telling me, I’ve learned what his voice “sounds like” in my life. I think he’s always been there, I just wasn’t really listening. Staying in tune with this is what will help me to have more awe-inspiring moments.

Leave a Reply

