Looking Back, Looking Forward, Giving Thanks

I love this time of year – the end of one year and the beginning of another.  This is traditionally a time for reflection, so first, here are some questions to ask yourself.

Looking Back

What did I entrust to God this year?

What has God done for me this year?

How have I seen God’s hand in my life?

How have I been changed in 2013?

What area of my life have I neglected that needs God’s attention?

What things am I holding onto that are actually holding me back?

Looking Forward

Where do I want to be next year at this time:

  • Spiritually?
  • Relationally?
  • Physically?
  • Financially?

What big, audacious prayer will I present to God?

What miracle will I petition God for?

How with I love God back with the way I live my life?

What will I surrender to God’s authority that is holding me back?

Will I make myself available for God to use as a blessing?

Am I ready and willing to receive blessings from God?

These are just a few questions that may help you reflect on 2013 and look forward to all the joy and blessing 2014 can offer.

Give Thanks

Next let’s give thanks for the ways in which God was present in our lives this year.  On my part, I am so thankful to be part of such a great church. I love you all so much!

I have seen God do the extraordinary through you. I have seen real love, with real hands and feet, making a real difference for our families and our larger community. I have seen an overwhelming outpouring of love for me and my family during difficult times. We are so humbled to have the privilege to serve God with you.

Looking back shows me how much God has done. Looking forward shows me all that He has in store for us to do. This will truly be a year of awe!

I love my church,

Jeff

Leave a Reply

