The Heart of Worship

During Lent, this time of preparation before Easter, we as a church have sought to draw closer to God and gain a greater understanding of our relationship with Him. This Sunday, March 30th at 6pm, I want to invite you to come to a night of worship.

Why?

Good question. Worship for me is a time of drawing closer to God. When I sing about His greatness, I am reminded that God is bigger than I can imagine; when I sing about my need for Him, I am reminded of His faithfulness; and when I sing about how God works through man, I am reminded that I am here for a purpose.

In Scripture, worship is described as a sweet offering to God. The Psalmist writes: “Bring your sacrifice of praise into the house of the Lord.” What is my sacrifice? For me, it starts with presence. I need to show up to be present, to choose to worship above the 47 other things I want to do on Sunday at 6 pm. I need to put action to my faith if I expect it to grow.

Secondly, I sacrifice my attention by taking it off myself and directing toward God. Finally, I know worship in community is also about the person standing next to me. As I worship, as I open myself up to God, my actions create an environment that encourages others to do the same. I think that is how to truly lead in worship.

As I look forward to celebrating Easter on April 20th with you all, I am reminded of the great sacrifice Jesus made for you and me. He did what I could not: He made a way back to God and forgave my sins. When I think of that for even the briefest of moments, how could my heart not be moved to worship?

I look forward to worshipping with you on Sunday!

-Jeff

 

Leave a Reply

