Luke Through Lent: Day 12 + Weekly Fast

Start your week off with Luke 5:17-39. Have you ever resisted the change God desires to bring into your life because you’ve got this “God thing” down?


 

In case Friday at lunch is an inconvenient time for you to fast, we’re sharing our weekly fast post earlier so you can have it handy for a time and place that works best for you! We truly believe that making more time for God during our week can lead to seeing His work in your life more clearly – and to being more open for His change to work in you.

Scripture

Read the following scripture twice, once for the head and once for the heart. Allow the truth of God’s word to feed you deeply in your spirit.

Ps 23:1 –6 (NLT)

The LORD is my shepherd;

I have all that I need.

He lets me rest in green meadows;

he leads me beside peaceful streams.

He renews my strength.

He guides me along right paths,

bringing honor to his name.

Even when I walk

through the darkest valley,

I will not be afraid,

for you are close beside me.

Your rod and your staff

protect and comfort me.

You prepare a feast for me

in the presence of my enemies.

You honor me by anointing my head with oil.

My cup overflows with blessings.

Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me

all the days of my life,

and I will live in the house of the LORD

forever.

Jas 1:5 (NLT)

If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking.

Name/Character of God

Ps 148:13 (CEV) All creation, come praise the name of the LORD. Praise his name alone. The glory of God is greater than heaven and earth.

In the Old Testament times, a name was not only identification, but an identity as well. Many times a special meaning was attached to the name. Names had, among other purposes, an explanatory purpose Throughout Scripture God reveals Himself to us through His names. When we study these names that He reveals to us in the Bible, we will better understand who God really is. The meanings behind God’s names reveal the central personality and nature of the One who bears them.

Reflect on the name and Character of God. What does he want to reveal to you about himself?

Jehovah-Raah (yeh-ho-vaw’ raw-aw’) (The Lord My Shepherd)

 

Jehovah is translated as “The Existing One” or “Lord.” The chief meaning of Jehovah is derived from the Hebrew word Havah meaning “to be” or “to exist.” It also suggests “to become” or specifically “to become known” – this denotes a God who reveals Himself unceasingly. Rô’eh from which Raah derived, means “shepherd” in Hebrew. A shepherd is one who feeds or leads his flock to pasture .An extend translation of this word, rea’, is “friend” or “companion.” This indicates the intimacy God desires between Himself and His people. When the two words are combined – Jehovah Raah – it can be translated as “The Lord my Friend.”

Further references of the name Jehovah-Raah in the Old Testament: Gen 48:15; Gen 49:24; Psa 23:1; Psa 80:1

How does it make you feel that God desires to be close to you? Can you have confidence in God’s leading when you understand his nature is Good?

My Prayer

Lord Jesus,

I pray that you would work in me that I might reflect you more.

Pray that God will grow my confidence in him in the face of difficulty. God give me true rest the restores me from the inside out. Help me respond in my innermost being to your leading.)

I pray that you work for me that I may be blessed by you.

(Pray for God to lead you and provide for your needs physically emotionally, spiritually. Pray for God to prosper you in the face of those who appose you)

I pray that you work through me that I may be an instrument of your love and grace.

(Pray that the God who is all mighty might have open access to your life to work through you to be sustaining and a blessing to others around you)

I give you permission to work in me, for me and through me according to your purpose

Amen

One comment

Leave a Reply

