Luke Through Lent: Day 19 + Week 4 Fast

Start your week off by reading Luke 8:40-56. Who is Jesus to you? What are some ways you can grow in knowing Him more?


This is the fourth week I’ve been fasting from lunch on Fridays. I hope you’ll participate in this spiritual process with me on whatever day of the week works best for you. Each week, I’ll share a couple verses and some thoughts about the name and character of God to help us get to know Him better.

We truly believe that making more time for God during our week can lead to seeing His work in your life more clearly – and to being more open for His change to work in you.

Scripture

Read the following scripture twice, once for the head and once for the heart. Allow the truth of God’s word to feed you deeply in your spirit.

Psalm 34:17-19 (NLT)

The LORD hears his people when they call to him for help.

He rescues them from all their troubles.

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted;

he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.

The righteous person faces many troubles,

but the LORD comes to the rescue each time.

2 Corinthians 12:8-10 (NLT)

Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Name/Character of God

Ps 148:13 (CEV) All creation, come praise the name of the LORD. Praise his name alone. The glory of God is greater than heaven and earth.

In the Old Testament times, a name was not only identification, but an identity as well. Many times a special meaning was attached to the name. Names had, among other purposes, an explanatory purpose Throughout Scripture God reveals Himself to us through His names. When we study these names that He reveals to us in the Bible, we will better understand who God really is. The meanings behind God’s names reveal the central personality and nature of the One who bears them.

Reflect on the name and character of God. What does he want to reveal to you about himself?

Jehovah Rapha (yeh-ho-vaw’ raw-faw’) (The Lord Who Heals)

Jehovah is translated as “The Existing One” or “Lord.” The chief meaning of Jehovah is derived from the Hebrew word Havah meaning “to be” or “to exist.” It also suggests “to become” or specifically “to become known” – this denotes a God who reveals Himself unceasingly. Rapha (râpâ’) means “to restore”, “to heal” or “to make healthful” in Hebrew. When the two words are combined – Jehovah Rapha – it can be translated as “Jehovah Who Heals.” (cf. Jer 30:17; Jer 3:22; Isa 30:26; Isa 61:1; Psa 103:3). Jehovah is the Great Physician who heals the physical and emotional needs of His people.

Further references of the name Jehovah Rapha in the Old Testament: Exd 15:26

God desires to heal our brokenness physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

My Prayer

Lord Jesus,

I pray that you would work in me that I might reflect you more.

(Pray that God will reveal to you the places in your life that need a healing touch. Open yourself to Jehovah Rapha and allow the healing to begin today.)

I pray that you work for me that I may be blessed by you.

(Pray for God to heal and restore brokenness that impacts your life.)

I pray that you work through me that I may be an instrument of your love and grace.

(Pray that He pours his healing through you and you can be his agent of life and healing in others.)

I give you permission to work in me, for me and through me according to your purpose.

Amen

One comment

Leave a Reply

