Luke Through Lent: Day 40 + Week 7 Fast

Today we’re reading Luke 20:1-21:4. Being in a loving relationship with God means recognizing that everything you possess, including your very self, belongs to him, no matter your financial situation. Do you find it difficult to allow God to have control of your finances? What have you learned so far in the journey?


This Good Friday marks the final Friday fast we’re doing as a community. If Fridays don’t work out for you and you’re fasting on a different day of the week, here’s the reading you can do! We hope these fasts have produced growth and faith each week, and that they’ve demonstrated that fasting is an important part of our spiritual lives. Above all, we hope you experienced the love and presence of God!

Scripture

Read the following scripture twice, once for the head and once for the heart. Allow the truth of God’s word to feed you deeply in your spirit.

John 17:6 –26 (NLTSE)

“I have revealed you to the ones you gave me from this world. They were always yours. You gave them to me, and they have kept your word.

Now they know that everything I have is a gift from you, for I have passed on to them the message you gave me. They accepted it and know that I came from you, and they believe you sent me.

“My prayer is not for the world, but for those you have given me, because they belong to you.

All who are mine belong to you, and you have given them to me, so they bring me glory. Now I am departing from the world; they are staying in this world, but I am coming to you. Holy Father, you have given me your name; now protect them by the power of your name so that they will be united just as we are. During my time here, I protected them by the power of the name you gave me. I guarded them so that not one was lost, except the one headed for destruction, as the Scriptures foretold.

“Now I am coming to you. I told them many things while I was with them in this world so they would be filled with my joy.

I have given them your word. And the world hates them because they do not belong to the world, just as I do not belong to the world. I’m not asking you to take them out of the world, but to keep them safe from the evil one. They do not belong to this world any more than I do. Make them holy by your truth; teach them your word, which is truth. Just as you sent me into the world, I am sending them into the world. And I give myself as a holy sacrifice for them so they can be made holy by your truth.

“I am praying not only for these disciples but also for all who will ever believe in me through their message.

I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you. And may they be in us so that the world will believe you sent me.

“I have given them the glory you gave me, so they may be one as we are one.

I am in them and you are in me. May they experience such perfect unity that the world will know that you sent me and that you love them as much as you love me. Father, I want these whom you have given me to be with me where I am. Then they can see all the glory you gave me because you loved me even before the world began!

“O righteous Father, the world doesn’t know you, but I do; and these disciples know you sent me.

I have revealed you to them, and I will continue to do so. Then your love for me will be in them, and I will be in them.”

Name/Character of God

Ps 148:13 (CEV) All creation, come praise the name of the LORD. Praise his name alone. The glory of God is greater than heaven and earth.

In the Old Testament times, a name was not only identification, but an identity as well. Many times a special meaning was attached to the name. Names had, among other purposes, an explanatory purpose. Throughout Scripture, God reveals Himself to us through His names. When we study these names that He reveals to us in the Bible, we will better understand who God really is. The meanings behind God’s names reveal the central personality and nature of the One who bears them.

Reflect on the name and character of God. What does he want to reveal to you about himself?

Jehovah Mekoddishkem (yeh-ho-vaw’ M-kaw-dash) (The Lord Who Sanctifies You, The Lord Who Makes Holy)

Jehovah is translated as “The Existing One” or “Lord.” The chief meaning of Jehovah is derived from the Hebrew word Havah meaning “to be” or “to exist.” It also suggests “to become” or specifically “to become known” – this denotes a God who reveals Himself unceasingly. Mekoddishkem derives from the Hebrew word qâdash meaning “sanctify,” “holy,” or “dedicate.” Sanctification is the separation of an object or person to the dedication of the Holy. When the two words are combined – Jehovah Mekoddishkem – it can be translated as “The Lord who sets you apart.”

Further references of the name Jehovah Mekoddishkem in the Old Testament: Exd 31:13; Lev 20:8

He is Holy and He has come to make you clean and right before him. What you cannot do for yourself, he freely gives to all who seek him.

My Prayer

Lord Jesus,

I pray that you would work in me that I might reflect you more.

(Make me holy and right in Your sight. Examine my heart, cleanse me, and make me new.)

I pray that you work for me that I may be blessed by you.

(As Your favored child, would You bless me, keep me safe, and protect me and all my efforts.)

I pray that you work through me that I may be an instrument of your love and grace.

(May I be a way for others to see the truth and the life that is in Christ Jesus.)

I give you permission to work in me, for me and through me according to your purpose

Amen.

Leave a Reply

