Love Mondays: Learning To Abide

Yesterday’s message helped us explore talking with God by abiding. To abide with God means, essentially, to sit quietly and be in His presence.

Easier said than done, right?

It might take a little practice, especially if you’re prone to daydreaming or checking Facebook (again), but learning to abide in Him will make us more fruitful:

“Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.” (John 15:4-8)

As these verses tell us, learning to “abide” and “remain” with Christ will have far-reaching benefits, so it’s worth making the time to learn. Try just sitting in silence – no music, no white noise, no nothing – for five minutes. If you want, you can use this prayer to open your time of abiding:

Dear Lord Jesus, I come to you now to be restored in you, renewed in you, to receive your life and your love and all the grace and mercy I so desperately need this day.

I will stop all striving and effort on my part.

I will abide in you right now.

God, I am listening.

What do you wish to say to me?

Enjoying a time of silence with God will reduce your stress level, increase your sensitivity to the voice of the Holy Spirit, and ultimately improve your communication with God. God desires to hear from us and for us to hear Him; for us to pray honestly and from our hearts, and for us to listen for His commands.

Psalms 62:1-5 says:

I wait quietly before God,
    for my victory comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress where I will never be shaken.
So many enemies against one man—
    all of them trying to kill me.
To them I’m just a broken-down wall
    or a tottering fence.
They plan to topple me from my high position.
    They delight in telling lies about me.
They praise me to my face
    but curse me in their hearts.
Let all that I am wait quietly before God,
    for my hope is in him.

Use the prayer journal you got last week to track your time spent in silence. Do you feel more open to the Spirit as you abide more and more in God? How is your state of mind? How are your prayers changing?

Leave a Reply

