Dispatches: The Truth, Honestly

Jeff and Shelley are on a pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago in Spain for a couple weeks! We’re excited to be able to share updates about their journey, what they experience, and what God shows them on their adventure.

“He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6: 8

As we listen to the heartbeat of the Rabbi, we will hear words of reassurance: “I’ve told you all this beforehand. Shh! Be still. I am here. All is well.” Brennan Manning

Today was hard: up before dawn, long miles, and lots of hills. We traveled through cities that demanded our attention along the way.

As I reflected on those passages, this simple thought came to my mind: Lord, you have been showing me so much of what it means to walk humbly before you and that has blessed my life so much. Is there more?

The word “honesty” filled my mind and I meditated on it all day. What is it to be honest with myself, with others, and, most importantly, before God?

The trail can be called “honest” because it just…exists. It simply is. You choose to walk it or you don’t. There is a beauty in the simplicity of it all. I believe God was using the Camino and those passages to show me how simple and honest it is to be in relationship with Him. I need to not complicate it – I just need to be honest in it.

Our new friend Kay from New Zealand said her husband Bruce would always tell the children, “There is nothing more simple than the truth. It just is.”

Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.

Honestly, it is all about Jesus. That’s simply, clearly, the truth. When you know where the road leads, it is easier to walk. That is my truth for today.

-Jeff

Leave a Reply

