Dispatches: Pilgrimage Postscript

Jeff and Shelley are on a pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago in Spain for a couple weeks! We’re excited to be able to share updates about their journey, what they experience, and what God shows them on their adventure.

Today is a day of reflection before we leave Santiago. We attended the beautiful and moving Pilgrim’s Mass at the Santiago de Compostela Cathedral. Although I couldn’t understand most of the priest’s words other than peregrino (pilgrim) and camino, his heart and compassion for the 1200+ people gathered was very clear. As I prayed for myself and the other pilgrims, God impressed this passage on my heart:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11: 28-30

Some around me had tears in their eyes, but others looked bored and some were even pushing around to get a better view. Let me be honest – that really bothered me, but I held my tongue.

The invitation to come to the Lord is open to everyone. All are welcome to find the deep rest of the soul that we all long for. God seeks to restore that most important part in us, our soul, the fountain from which our life flows.

The way continues for me as before, maybe clearer and stronger. I seek to use my strength, skill, words, heart, and time to help people find Him, Jesus, the one who restores the soul.

Many seek, and we are here to help them find the Way: a living relationship with Him.

I  would rather be a door keeper in the house of the Lord then anything else.

-Jeff

P.S.

I love my church! You live out a faith that is real and honest. You are so inspiring to me. God has an extraordinary year ahead of us. I can’t wait to worship with you again!

Leave a Reply

